PDA

View Full Version : Carbon Fiber hood???



Enigma
11-27-2005, 11:35 AM
I have a 90 TSI and I was wondering where can i get a good quality carbon fiber hood for it? I have done searches in other sites but no luck finding it.

Dsm Danny
11-27-2005, 12:56 PM
hit up VIS i do bussiness with them personally and there hoods are good
call them at (626) 839-9833

twizzle
11-28-2005, 05:45 PM
use google.com

iboostdoyou
11-28-2005, 08:44 PM
use google.com
oooo the irony, it burrnnnsssss.....

trucks has a cf hood on his 1g although i havent seen him post on here in a while. I've got the new style vis hood and i love it. Full underside cf bracing and light as all hell. Brackets lined up perfect first try and fits like stock.
http://www.andysautosport.com/product/d ... v=vmd00297 (http://www.andysautosport.com/product/detail?_p=VISR00024493&_v=vmd00297) there is one place, not a bad price for a legit hood, but ebay is always a good place to look

talondsm18g
11-28-2005, 09:23 PM
Mine is a Vis Grade A.. It came with the car though.

Dsm Danny
11-29-2005, 01:51 PM
my hood is VIS and i havent had a problem with it and its hott i have the evo style one on my 2nd gen and i like it go VIS its the best. The best thing to do is gather up some of ur boys and see if they want hoods because if they do then u can get the hoods for cheap thats why i did the last 2 times

TurboMike
11-29-2005, 06:38 PM
I've heard good things (quality at cheap prices) about that place in PA. I think its near Kutzfield or Kutzburg? The PA town with the big college. They make CF and fiberglass, and they make it themselves so you can pick the hoodpin layout and vents if you want any. They even have all pins (no latch or hindges, whole hood down with pins) for the ultimate lightweight. I think it was called Martys or something?

I keep telling myself I'm going there to get a 2G fiberglass (hard to find) but my car wont run long enough between wallet drains.

TurboMike
11-29-2005, 06:44 PM
Found it:

Franks Custom Fiberglass

http://www.frankscustomfiberglass.com/

I_LOVE_DSMS
12-05-2005, 06:32 PM
Found it:

Franks Custom Fiberglass

http://www.frankscustomfiberglass.com/
Place seems pretty legit. Some of their stuff is real nice.

derf hwt
12-06-2005, 12:52 AM
I've heard good things (quality at cheap prices) about that place in PA. I think its near Kutzfield or Kutzburg? The PA town with the big college. They make CF and fiberglass, and they make it themselves so you can pick the hoodpin layout and vents if you want any. They even have all pins (no latch or hindges, whole hood down with pins) for the ultimate lightweight. I think it was called Martys or something?

I keep telling myself I'm going there to get a 2G fiberglass (hard to find) but my car wont run long enough between wallet drains.

Kutztown is about an hour and half from me (bloomingdale) straight down 287 to 78 west to 222 north (i think its the 2nd exit for 22 off 78) for about 15-20 min

blcknspo0ln
12-06-2005, 01:25 AM
Found it:

Franks Custom Fiberglass

http://www.frankscustomfiberglass.com/
Place seems pretty legit. Some of their stuff is real nice.

it's legit.. when I was over at 3si.org all of those guys used Frank for hoods

puremx69
12-06-2005, 04:30 PM
Found it:

Franks Custom Fiberglass

http://www.frankscustomfiberglass.com/
Place seems pretty legit. Some of their stuff is real nice.

it's legit.. when I was over at 3si.org all of those guys used Frank for hoods


I vaguely remember a discussion about this a year or two ago and that was the only place that had anything for DSM's...it's definately a legit place and they have awesome stuff, I personally got a VIS hood because I got some deal on it or something I don't even remember at this point but both places are really good and Frank's is definately an awesome place, relatively close, way more custom (aka more options) and the guy does/did entire bodies for pro racers so they know what they're doing over there to say the least.

Phreak
12-06-2005, 04:34 PM
Place seems pretty legit. Some of their stuff is real nice.
Thanks for another completely useless post. I'm real glad to know that you think a place "seems" legit, while knowing absolutely dick about it. You must have a real keen mind for advertising.

MikeL
12-06-2005, 04:45 PM
Place seems pretty legit. Some of their stuff is real nice.
Thanks for another completely useless post. I'm real glad to know that you think a place "seems" legit, while knowing absolutely dick about it. You must have a real keen mind for advertising.

Cut the shit, franks is legit, whether or not he knew that is as irrelevant as you assuming that he didn't know, so stop picking on each other like 2nd graders.